These 36 Countries Are Banned From Russian Airspace

36 Countries Banned From Using Russian Airspace After EU Sanctions

We pray for peace as soon as possible to prevent further loss and damage.

On 27 Feb 2022, Europe closed its skies on Russian aircraft, whether owned or controlled by Russians. The announcement included all Russian planes, from commercial to private jets, which will no longer be allowed to land, take off from, and fly over any EU nation. This is only one of many sanctions imposed by western countries on Russia after its attack on Ukraine

Consequently, Russia returned the favour as it banned 36 countries from using Russian airspace. On 28 Feb 2022, Russian aviation regulator, Rosaviatsia, released the following statement:

“A restriction has been imposed on flights for airlines of 36 countries in accordance with international law as a retaliatory measure for the ban imposed by the European states on the flights of commercial airliners operated by Russian airlines and/or registered in Russia.”

countries banned russia

Image credit: Ant Rozetsky 

This entails that these airlines will have to take longer routes — therefore raising the cost of fuel and perhaps tickets. The countries banned from entering Russian airspace are the following:

  • Albania
  • Anguilla
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark (including Greenland, the Faroe Islands)
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Jersey
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom

Also read: UK Travel Restrictions: All You Need to Know Before Visiting

Despite the fact that Switzerland is not on Russia’s banned list, Swiss International Airlines (owned by Germany’s Lufthansa Airlines), also cancelled its flights from Zurich to Moscow. Swiss International Airlines has also released a statement saying that they will no longer fly in Russian airspace. 

Also read: Planning to Fly This Year? Here Are the Safest Airlines in 2022!

As the war continues in Ukraine and Russia, we all hope for peace as soon as possible so that innocent lives will be spared and families will soon be reunited. Till then, please be aware that the aforementioned countries have been banned to fly in Russia and vice versa.

Featured image credit: Alexander Popov | Unsplash

About Author


TripZilla inspires travel with guides, tips and stories by our community of travellers in and around Southeast Asia.