Okavango Delta: Africa’s Newest World Heritage Site

Okavango Delta: Africa’s Newest UNESCO World Heritage Site

Okavango Delta is Africa's newest UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is home to some of the world’s most endangered species of animals. Start your African wildlife journey at this naturally blessed site.

Okavango Delta

Just recently, UNESCO has officially recognised the Okavango Delta in Botswana as its 1,000th World Heritage Site. It is Africa’s newest and Botswana’s second world heritage site. Okavango Delta is Africa’s last remaining wetland wilderness. Due to its outstanding universal value and natural heritage, it gained the UNESCO recognition where tourism development and preservation will be rightfully given.

This aerial view may look simple but when you truly get into the heart of its wilderness, you’ll be surprised to see complex habitats of diverse wildlife where some of the world’s most endangered species of animals thrive. You will always find life in all parts of this naturally blessed site.

-19.204236, 23.043394,Okavango Delta, Botswana

Inspired? Here’s how you can start your wildlife adventure in Africa:
TripZilla Travel Packages to Africa

Image credits: panoramio.com

About Author


TripZilla inspires travel with guides, tips and stories by our community of travellers in and around Southeast Asia.